LAST_UPDATETue, 19 Jun 2018 12am

Accusation Against Speaker: Action Must Be Taken Against Three DAP MPs

Tan Sri Shahrir Abdul Samad.Tan Sri Shahrir Abdul Samad.

KUALA LUMPUR — The government and parliament are urged to take action against three DAP Members of Parliament who were considered to have uttered 'strong’ words against Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia concerning the 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB) issue.

Barisan Nasional Backbenchers Club (BNBBC) chairman Tan Sri Shahrir Abdul Samad said he viewed the allegation by MP for Taiping Nga Kor Ming, Ngeh Koo Ham (Beruas) and V Sivakumar (Batu Gajah) against Pandikar Amin as mischievous when he was alleged to be an “ally in covering up the bribery scandal".

“There are elements of assumption, judgement which is wrong for the three members of Parliament to have done,” he said at a media conference at Parliament House, today.

Yesterday, the three MPs were reported to have demanded for Pandikar Amin to resign for rejecting the emergency motion filed by the opposition regarding compensation for the luxury yacht belonging to businessman Jho Low and the question regarding 1MDB.

They were also quoted as saying that Pandikar Amin, as the Dewan Rakyat Speaker had failed to uphold the truth.

Shahrir said the attacks by the opposition MPs against the Speaker concerning the 1MDB issue was nothing new, on the other hand, questions on the 1MDB had been raised at each Dewan Rakyat session previously.

However, he noted that not all questions or motions regarding the 1MDB were rejected by the Dewan Rakyat because Pandikar Amin, at a media conference on July 27 last year had informed that 19 questions concerning the 1MDB had been allowed for debate.

"Thus this refutes the accusation by the opposition MPs because there were still questions concerning the 1MDB in the Standing Orders.

"Most of the questions raised were rejected because they violate Standing Order 23 (c): as they contained numerous elements of accusations and fabrication,” he explained.

As Members of Parliament, the opposition members did not respect the position of the Speaker by disputing his decision to accept or reject the questions or motions submitted.